AIA Board elects not to award 2003 Gold Medal

December 10, 2002 |

The lack of a three-fourths majority prevented the AIA Board of Directors from awarding the AIA Gold Medal for 2003.

The Board is not required to award the Gold Medal each year and has elected not to do so approximately 36 times since the first AIA Gold Medal was awarded in 1907.

The highest honor the AIA confers to an individual, the Gold Medal recognizes individuals whose significant body of work has had a lasting influence on the theory and practice of architecture. There have been 59 recipients of the AIA Gold Medal.

For more, visit

(AIA release, 12/5/02)

Overlay Init