The Weekly is STREAMING now. Join us at HorizonTV

Shortlist for 2015 Mies van der Rohe Award announced

Copenhagen, Berlin, and Rotterdam are the cities where most of the shortlisted works have been built. 

February 11, 2015 |

Photo credit: Mikkel Frost

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the 40 shortlisted works that will compete for the 2015 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture—Mies van der Rohe Award. 

In total, 420 works were nominated for the award. An expert jury drew up the final shortlist (details below). The five finalists will present their projects on May 7, 2015, before the jury decides the overall winner of the prize, as well as the Emerging Architect Prize, at a celebration that will take place at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona on May 8.

Among the shortlisted works are 16 cultural facilities, four education projects, three mixed-use developments, and three religious structures. Copenhagen, Berlin, and Rotterdam are the cities where most of the shortlisted works have been built.

Here's the complete Mies van der Rohe Award 2015 shortlist, by country:



  • 2226 Lustenau, by Baumschlager Eberle Lustenau



  • Hostel Wadi in Hoge Rielen, Kasterlee, by Studio Associato Bernardo Secchi-PaolaViganò



  • Immanuel Church, Cologne, by Sauerbruch Hutton
  • Gleisdreieck Park, Berlin, by Atelier Loidl
  • R50 Cohousing, Berlin, by Heide & Von Beckerath and Ifau und Jesko Fezer
  • Ravensburg Art Museum, Ravensburg, by Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei



  • Vartov Square, Copenhagen, by Hall McKnight
  • Moesgaard Museum, Højbjerg, by Henning Larsen Architects
  • Danish Maritime Museum, Helsingør, by BIG
  • Childrens Home of the Future, Kerteminde, by CEBRA Architecture
  • Forfatterhuset Kindergarten, Copenhagen, by COBE



  • Atrio - Relais Châteaux, Cáceres, by Mansilla + Tuñón Arquitectos
  • Public Equipment: Urban Park and Transportation Hub, Logroño, by Ábalos + Sentkiewicz Arquitectos and Arquitectura Agronomia
  • Public Library, Ceuta, by Paredes Pedrosa Arquitectos
  • Luz House, Cilleros, Cáceres, by Arquitectura-g
  • Contemporary Art Centre, Córdoba, by Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos



  • Soulages Museum, Rodez, by ES-RCRArquitectes
  • FRAC Regional Contemporary Artwork Collection, Dunkerque, by Lacaton & Vassal Architectes
  • Marseille Vieux Port, Marseille, by Foster + Partners



  • Redevelopment of the New Waterfront, Thessaloniki, by Nikiforidis-Cuomo Architects



  • University of Limerick, Medical School, Student Housing, Piazza and Pergola, Limerick, by Grafton Architects
  • Waterford Medieval Museum, Waterford, by Waterford City Council Architects



  • H71a, Reykjavík, by Studio Granda



  • Expo Gate, Milan, by Scandurra Studio Architettura
  • Antinori Winery, San Casciano Vsl di Pesa, Firenze, by Archea Associati



  • Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam, by Cruz Y Ortiz Arquitectos
  • Education Centre Erasmus Mc, Rotterdam, by Kaan Architecten
  • De Rotterdam, Rotterdam, by OMA
  • Rozet, Culture House, Arnhem, by Neutelings Riedijk Architects



  • Silesian Museum, Katowice, by Riegler Riewe Architekten
  • Philarmonic Hall Szczecin, Szczecin, by BarozziVeiga and Studio A4
  • Museum of the History of Polish Jews, Warszawa, by Architects Lahdelma & Mahlamäki



  • Arquipélago Contemporary Arts Centre, Ribeira Grande, Azores, by João Mendes Ribeiro Arquitecto and Menos é Mais Arquitectos Associados
  • High Performance Rowing Centre, Vila Nova de Roz Côa, by SpacialAR-TE



  • Urban Spaces Dogarilor Apartment Building, Bucharest, by ADN Birou de Arhitectura



  • The New Crematorium of the Woodland Cemetery, Enskede, Stockholm, by Johan Celsing Arkitektkontor



  • Sancaklar Mosque, Istanbul, by Emre Arolat Architects



  • Saw Swee Hock Student Centre, London School of Economics, London, by O'Donnell + Tuomey
  • Everyman Theatre, Liverpool, by Haworth Tompkins
  • Bishop Edward King Chapel, Oxford, by Niall McLaughlin Architects
Overlay Init

Your card will be charged: 0