Narrowing the field: Stirling Prize shortlist announced

The winner will be announced on October 16. 

July 21, 2014 |

The shortlist for the 2014 Stirling Prize, the £20,000 prize awarded by the Royal Institute of British Architects for the best British architecture of the year, has been announced.

Narrowed down from 56 projects to six, the list includes first-time nominees Mecanoo and Renzo Piano Building Workshop, as well as previous winners Zaha Hadid Architects and Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios. 

The winner will be announced on October 16. The jury includes Spencer De Grey of Foster + Partners, MJ Long of Long & Kentish Architects, Cindy Walters of Walters and Cohen, Stephen Kieran of Kieran Timberlake, and Sir Timothy Sainsbury.

The 2014 Stirling Prize shortlist:

1. Everyman Theatre by Haworth Tompkins
2. Library of Birmingham by Mecanoo
3. London Aquatics Centre by Zaha Hadid Architects
4. London Bridge Tower (The Shard) by Renzo Piano Building Workshop
5. London School of Economics, Saw Swee Hock Student Centre by O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects
6. Manchester School of Art by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
Overlay Init