HorizonTV Featuring BD+C: Watch Episodes On Demand At HorizonTV

Illinois Office of Tourism unveils new Frank Lloyd Wright Trail

The trail stretches from Rockford to Springfield.

May 08, 2018 |

Frank Lloyd Wright is arguably the most famous American architect who ever lived. He was a starchitect before starchitects were even a thing and developed the architectural style known as the Prairie school.

His unique buildings are stippled around the country but much of his work, especially in his early years, can be found in Illinois. As such, the Illinois Office of Tourism has unveiled the new Frank Lloyd Wright Trail. The trail, which includes 13 Frank Lloyd Wright-designed buildings, stretches as far north as Rockford and as far south as Springfield.

Each of the 13 properties along the self-guided tour are open to the public. Some of the highlights include Frank Lloyd Wright’s private residence and studio, the Frederick C. Robie House, and the Unity Temple.


See Also: Watch Frank Lloyd Wright and Buckminster Fuller discuss architecture in animated video shorts


The full list of buildings includes:

  1. Emil Bach House

  2. Charnley-Persky House Museum

  3. The Rookery

  4. Frederick C. Robie house

  5. Frank Lloyd Wright Home & Studio

  6. Unity Temple

  7. Colonel George Fabyan Villa

  8. Muirhead Farmhouse

  9. Petit Memorial Chapel

  10. Kenneth Laurent House

  11. B. Harley Bradley House

  12. Frank L. Smith Bank

  13. Dana-Thomas House

More information about each building can be found here.

Overlay Init

Your card will be charged: 0