2014 National Electrical Code now effective in 12 states; 11 more to come online by January

New code requirements impact commercial, residential, and industrial buildings

The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) says that the 2014 edition of the National Electrical Code(NEC) is now effective in 12 states: Alabama, Colorado, Idaho, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Mexico, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington and Wyoming. Eleven more states are set to enforce the 2014 edition by January 2015.

The NEC is one of the most widely used codes in the world. Many new and revised requirements in the code impact residential, commercial, and industrial electrical installations. Important changes include expanded AFCI and GFCI protection in homes and other types of buildings; new approaches to PV electric systems that provide greater safety for first responders; and the best available fire and shock protection features for residential electrical systems.

The 2014 edition also added four new articles on growing technologies:

·         Low Voltage Direct Current Distribution Systems

·         Modular Data Centers

·         Fire Resistive Cable Systems

·         Energy Management Systems


Overlay Init