Lean Construction Institute receives Turner Prize for Innovation in Construction

National Building Museum and Turner Construction Honor Lean Construction Institute

November 01, 2013 |

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The National Building Museum and Turner Construction Company present the 11th Henry C. Turner Prize for Innovation in Construction to Lean Construction Institute

Lean construction is an innovative way to design and build structures that strives to create a safer workplace, reduce cost, and provide faster delivery while maintaining high quality control. The Lean Construction Institute (LCI) is at the forefront this of approach.

“LCI is a natural for the Turner Prize because of the innovative thinking it has brought the construction industry in project execution,” said Jan Tuchman, editor in chief, Engineering News-Record and Turner Prize jury member. “The group has had a large and positive impact in its relatively short history.”

To mark the occasion, on Wednesday, December 4, 6:30–8pm, LCI co- founder Greg Howell, executive director Dan Heinemeier, and board chair Victor Sanvido give a presentation titled “Faster, Better, Safer: Lean Design and Construction,” demonstrating the benefits of lean construction. Following this original talk, they join a panel of property owners and builders to discuss how lean construction can shape the future of the building industry.

Panelists include:

  • Chris Jahrling, vice president, General Manager Federal Services, Turner Construction Company
  • Bill Seed, vice president, Design and Construction, Universal Health Services
  • Tom Sorley, CEO, Rosendin Electric
  • Jan Tuchman, editor in chief, Engineering News-Record (moderator)

“This is a huge honor for the Lean Construction Institute, and a truly wonderful surprise!” said Dan Heinemeier, executive director of the Lean Construction Institute. “We extend our thanks to the National Building Museum and the jury members for this recognition of our work and the opportunities it will afford us to continue to carry forward our mission of promoting industry transformation through Lean tools and techniques.” 


The Turner Construction Company established the Turner Prize and an endowment to support it in order to honor Henry C. Turner, who founded the company in 1902. The prize recognizes advances or high achievement in the process of construction—an invention, an innovative methodology, and/or exemplary leadership. 

Past recipients include:

  • Leslie E. Robertson
  • I.M. Pei
  • Charles A. DeBenedittis
  • U.S. Green Building Council
  • Dr. Paul Teicholz
  • Gehry Partners and Gehry Technologies
  • Charles H. Thornton
  • Engineers Without Borders
  • Society of Women Engineers


The National Building Museum is America’s leading cultural institution dedicated to advancing the quality of the built environment by educating people about its impact on their lives. Through its exhibitions, educational programs, online content, and publications, the Museum has become a vital forum for the exchange of ideas and information about the world we build for ourselves. Public inquiries: 202.272.2448 or visit www.nbm.org. Follow us on Twitter: @BuildingMuseum and Facebook: www.facebook.com/NationalBuildingMuseum.

Overlay Init