Iowa State wins top honors in 2009 NCARB Prize for Creative Integration of Practice and Education in the Academy

April 14, 2009 |

The NCARB Prize grand prize—a cash award of $25,000—will be presented to Iowa State University. Four submissions were selected as NCARB Prize winners and recipients of $7,500 each. They are the University of Detroit-Mercy, Boston Architectural College, University of Kansas, and Ball State University.

The 2009 NCARB Prize jury, comprising members of the Council's Practice Education Committee and four academic representatives (deans, heads, or chairs) from schools with architecture programs accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board, (NAAB) nominated by NCARB's regional leadership, met 25-26 March 2009 in Portland, OR. They considered 35 entries representing 29 different colleges and universities.

Both entries and jurors were divided into two groups based on regional location. Each team evaluated a set of anonymous submissions and selected finalists, which were then reviewed by the entire jury. The jury’s decision was announced during the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony, 27 March 2009 in Portland, OR.

Amanda Pica

Communications Coordinator

NCARB  1801 K Street NW   Suite 700K   Washington, DC  20006

202 783 6500 Main   202 879 0533 Direct   202 783 0290 Fax

Overlay Init