Free webinar on Designing and Building Green Schools scheduled for June 20

USGBC Center for Green Schools and other experts to present practical tips.

June 13, 2012

Contractors, architects, code officials and other building industry professionals interested in learning ways to develop healthier, more energy-efficient schools can gain practical insights from industry-leading experts during the GreenExpo365 "Green Schools 'Breakout Session' " June 20, 2012.

GreenExpo365.com will host a series of four free webinars in conjunction with the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) Center for Green Schools, covering multiple design and construction topics for green schools. Such schools can help improve student learning and faculty retention, as well as reduce operating and maintenance costs, according to USGBC. www.greenexpo365.com

The "Green Schools 'Breakout Session' " presentation schedule for Wednesday, June 20 is:

8:00 a.m. Pacific / 11:00 a.m. Eastern
"Green Schools 101: Leveraging the Power of Design to Transform Childhood Wellness"
Steve Davis, AIA, LEED AP, Director of Sustainable Design, VMDO Architects; and Matt Trowbridge, Assistant Professor, University of Virginia School of Medicine

9:30 a.m. Pacific / 12:30 p.m. Eastern
"In the Office and in the Community: Contractor and Architect Resources to Transform our Nation's Schools"
Jenny Wiedower, LEED Green Associate, K-12 Manager, USGBC Center for Green Schools; Nate Allen, Schools Advocacy Lead, USGBC Center for Green Schools; and Emily Knupp, LEED AP, Grassroots Outreach Coordinator, USGBC Center for Green Schools

11:00 a.m. Pacific / 2:00 p.m. Eastern
"Net-Zero Energy Schools: Beyond Platinum"
Paul C. Hutton, AIA, LEED AP, Principal, Hutton Architecture Studio

1:00 p.m. Pacific / 4:00 p.m. Eastern
"Steel Curtain Wall Glazing Systems for Green School Design"
Tysen Gannon, LEED AP, Gannon Associates; and Gregory J. Smolley, AIA, AICP, LEED AP, Principal JCJ Architecture

All sessions are open to registered users of GreenExpo365. Most sessions are AIA Continuing Education-credit eligible, and registration is free. For more information, visit www.greenexpo365.com. +

         
 

Comments on: "Free webinar on Designing and Building Green Schools scheduled for June 20"